Springe direkt zu Inhalt

Cooperation Partners

GEAS Graduate School of East Asian Studies is a structured docotral programme of Dahlem Research School, the doctoral research facility of Freie Unviersität Berlin. 

University Institutes

The school is based in the department of History and Cultural Studies. Our main cooperating departments (institutes) are:

1. History and Cultural Studies (Japanese Studies, Chinese Studies, Korean Studies based on social sciences, History, Cultural Studies)

2. Political and Social Sciences (Political Science, International Relations, Social and Cultural Anthropology, Political Communication, (Gender Studies))

3. Business and Economics (Doctoral Program in Business Research)

4. Law (International, Public and Civil Law)

5. Philosophy and Humanities (Gender and Theatre Studies)

In addtion to the departments at FU, we also cooperate with colleagues (GEAS Principal Investigators) at the following FU departments and Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin:

1. Freie Universität Berlin, Department of Geography (Human Geography) - Antonie Schmiz

2. Humboldt Universität zu Berlin, Southeast Asian Studies - Claudia Derichs

2. Humboldt Universität zu Berlin, Chinese Studies - Sarah Eaton

Our main cooperating reseach institutes in Berlin are Stiftung Wissenschaft und Politik (SWP), Japanisch-Deutsches Zentrum Berlin (JDZB) and Deutsche Gesellschaft für Auswärtige Politik (DGAP).

GEAS also cooperates with other graduate schools in the cluster (BGTS) and BGSMCS, FSGS, BerGSAS, GNAS and HCS.

National and International Cooperation

Our closest partner in PhD joint courses and workshop is the doctoral program at University of Zurich, with who we are planning annual joint workshops since 2014/15. 

GEAS builds on a long-established network of cooperations with leading universities in East Asia, especially in China, Japan, and South Korea. Moreover, GEAS cooperates closely with a growing network of East Asia related research institutes and associations in Europe and North America.

List of Cooperation Partners (university and non-university institutions)

Cooperation Partners in GermanyLocations
Berlin School for Global and Transnational Studies (BGTS) Berlin
German Institute for International and Security Affairs (SWP) Berlin
German Council on Foreign Relations (DGAP) Berlin
Japanese-German Center Berlin (JDZB) Berlin
German Institute of Global and Area Studies (GIGA) Hamburg
Eberhard-Karls-University Tübingen, Chinese Studies Tübingen
Institute of East Asian Studies (IN-EAST) Duisburg-Essen
Cooperation Partners in East Asia 
Chinese University of Hong Kong Hong Kong
Fudan University Shanghai
Nanjing University Nanjing
National Cheng Chi University Taipei
National Taiwan University Taipei
Beijing University Beijing
International Christian University Tokyo
Keio University Tokyo
Sophia University Tokyo
University of Tokyo Tokyo
Tsukuba University Tsukuba
Waseda University Tokyo
Nihon University Tokyo
Ewha University Seoul
Korea University Seoul
Seoul National University Seoul
Sogang University Seoul
Yonsei University Seoul
German Institute for Japanese Studies (DIJ) Tokyo
Cooperation Partners Worldwide 
EJARN Stockholm
University of Zürich, East Asian Institute Zürich
King's College London
Massachussetts Institute of Technology Boston
Edwin O. Reischauer Institute, Harvard University Cambridge, MA
Fairbank Center for East Asian Research, Harvard University Cambridge, MA
Weatherhead East Asian Institute, Columbia University New York
Institute of East Asian Studies, University of California Berkeley
East Asian Studies, Leiden University Leiden
Department of Politics and International Studies, Warwick Coventry
Hebrew University, Jerusalem Israel